Sunday, May 24, 2015

It's A Summer Thing


So for the third summer in a row I'm off to work at a sleep away camp for the summer.This summer will be a bit different however because I'm not returning to Camp K but instead working at a Girl Scout Camp in Wisconsin.I just got word a few days ago that I got the job and needless to say I have camp on the brain. I leave for staff training in a week and while deciding what books to bring on the very slim chance that I get some time on my days off to read I started to wonder if there were any good books revolving around a summer camp. 
I couldn't think of any that I've read besides OyMG by Amy Fellner Dominy-which is pretty hilarious and touching-so i searched for camp related books on Goodreads and discovered a bunch of campish books.So below Iv'e included both fiction and non fiction books with a camp setting that I would really like to read at some point.


Title:Five Summer
Author: Una LaMarche
Fiction,YA
Four best friends, five summers of camp memories. 

The summer we were nine: Emma was branded “Skylar’s friend Emma” by the infamous Adam Loring...
The summer we were ten: Maddie realized she was too far into her lies to think about telling the truth...
The summer we were eleven: Johanna totally freaked out during her first game of Spin the Bottle...
The summer we were twelve: Skylar’s love letters from her boyfriend back home were exciting to all of us—except Skylar...
Our last summer together: Emma and Adam almost kissed. Jo found out Maddie’s secret. Skylar did something unthinkable... and whether we knew it then or not, five summers of friendship began to fall apart. 

Three years after the fateful last night of camp, the four of us are coming back to camp for reunion weekend—and for a second chance. Bittersweet, funny, and achingly honest, Five Summers is a story of friendship, love, and growing up that is perfect for fans of Anne Brashares and Judy Blume's Summer Sisters.




Title:Things I Can't Forget
Author:Miranda Keneally
Fiction,YA
Kate has always been the good girl. Too good, according to some people at school—although they have no idea the guilty secret she carries. But this summer, everything is different…

This summer she’s a counselor at Cumberland Creek summer camp, and she wants to put the past behind her. This summer Matt is back as a counselor too. He’s the first guy she ever kissed, and he’s gone from a geeky songwriter who loved The Hardy Boys to a buff lifeguard who loves to flirt--with her.

Kate used to think the world was black and white, right and wrong. Turns out, life isn’t that easy…




Title:Not A Happer Camper 

Author:Mindy Schneider
Non-Fiction,Memoir 

Remember those long sultry summer days at camp, the sun setting over the lake as you sang Kumbaya? Well, Mindy Schneider remembers her summer at Camp Kin-A-Hurra in 1974 just a wee bit differently. Not a Happy Camper chronicles a young girl’s adventures at a camp where the sun never shines, the breakfast cereal dates back to the summer of 1922, and many of the counselors speak no English. For eight eye-opening and unforgettable weeks, 
Mindy and her eccentric band of friends — including Autumn Evening Schwartz, the daughter of hippies who communicates with the dead, and the sleep-dancing, bibliophile Betty Gilbert — keep busy feuding in color wars, failing at sports, and uncovering the camp’s hidden past. As she focuses on landing the perfect boyfriend and longs for her first kiss, Mindy unexpectedly stumbles across something infinitely grander: herself. Hilarious, charming, and glowing with nostalgia, Mindy Schneider’s memoir is a must-read for anyone who’s ever been to summer camp, or wishes they had


Title:Cabin Pressure: One Man's Desperate Attempt to Recapture His Youth as a Camp Counselor
Author:Josh Wolk
Non-Fiction,Memoir 
Three months before getting married at age thirty-four, Josh Wolk decides to treat himself to a "farewell to childhood" extravaganza: one last summer working at the beloved Maine boys' camp where he spent most of the eighties. And there he finds out that there's no better way to see how much you've changed than to revisit a place that hasn't changed at all.In these eight hilarious, uncomfortable, enlightening weeks, Josh readjusts to life teaching swimming and balancing on a thin metal cot in a cabin of shouting, wrestling, wet-willie-dispensing fourteen-year-olds who, contrary to the warnings of doom saying sociologists, he finds indistinguishable from the rowdy fourteen-year-olds of his day in any way other than their haircuts. With his old camp friends gone, he finds himself working alongside guys who used to be his campers.
 Moments of feeling cripplingly old are offset by the corrosive insecurities of his youth when he's paired in the cabin with Mitch, the forty-two-year-old jack-of-all- extreme-sports whose machismo intimidated Josh so much fifteen years earlier, and whom their current campers idolize. And throughout all this disorienting regression, Josh's telephone conversations with his fiance, Christine, grow increasingly intense as their often comical discussions over the wedding become a flimsy cover for her worries that he's not ready to relinquish his death-grip on the comforts of the past.
So there ya go fellow bloggers and blog reader my list of books related to summer camps.
Have any camp related book recommendationsA funny stories when you were a camper or counselor then go right ahead and leave me a comment I'd love to hear from you.

2 comments:

  1. Amazing reviews!! They seem like amazing reads!! :D

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks for commenting but i have yet to read these books.This post is a just list of books camp related with summaries from Goodreads.....no reviews at all.

      Delete

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...